From 1 star to 4 stars on Codechef

Paras Sharma
2 min readOct 25, 2019

--

Before starting this story I want to state that this is my first article. So, please provide valuable feedback so that I can improve my next articles.

So let us dive into the journey. Before starting, I must state I was not a brilliant student in studies(My CGPA is the proof :D). It all started when I joined my college (2 years ago). I choose Computer Science Engineering because everyone told me to do so… :D After a month some seniors invited all branches to join a workshop on programming. After attending that workshop I found programming fascinating. I went home, made Codechef ID and started coding. Before this point, I never got so much interested in any material related to studies;) So after a few days, I did my first Competitive programming competition and guess what? I had a score of 40 out of 1000. I got disappointed.

Before starting next phase I want you to remember these lines “Alone we can do so little, together we can do so much”.

So after a month, I took part in another competition. But End-semester exams came and was not able to score any point. I was new in college and had only a few friends(typical introvert). Then the winter holidays came. I spend most of my time practicing new questions. Finally, in the next month's challenge, I was able to solve two questions. Yayy!!!. With the new semester starting, I made some new friends - Harshit, Sumukh, Agrim, Rahul and Naman(All were toppers). We all have one thing in common, passion for coding. So we started practicing questions in a group. Helped each other in coding problems. Learned new things, especially about plagiarism:D. I still remember we laughed for hours because 4 of them got plagiarised:D... After every contest we discussed solutions. My Rank started improving. A competition started building of taking better rank than others. This competition among our group helped each of us to improve our coding skills. In the latest competition which I gave, my ratings increased to 1968. From 1251 to 1968 ratings this has been an incredible journey. I am still not too good at short contests. Trying to improve in that area now;)

My Codechef Ratings graph
Codechef Rating Graph
Long Challenge Rating Graph

Now, I have second-highest ratings in college. Thanks to all friends (Harshit, Sumukh, Rahul, Naman and Agrim )for making coding so simple.

“ This post is only to motivate more people to keep practising”.

--

--